Monthly Art Challenge

SWAT Kats related fan art goes here.

Should the MSKAC be brought back?

Poll ended at Sat Jan 30, 2016 7:37 pm

I'm an artist and I want to try this!
100%
I'm an artist and I think this is a bad idea.
No votes

Total votes: 6

MoDaD
Janitor
Flag: United States of America

Monthly Art Challenge

Postby MoDaD » Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:37 pm

Some time ago there was an activity called The Monthly SWAT Kats Art Challenge which was originally run by Strike and later picked up by Klawz if my memory is correct, where artists would come up with works in response to the parameters of a challenge and people would vote for whichever they either liked the best or thought best fit the challenge. One example of a challenge was something along the lines of "draw an unlikely character pairing" and this was one particular response from Kris.

After the success of the Art Exchange I was wondering if you thought there would be an interest in a renewal of The Monthly SWAT Kats Art Challenge, coordinated via the MegakatCity.com forum, but also promoted at various locations like SWAT Kats Fanatics on deviantArt and of course the successful SWAT Kats Hangar on Tumblr run by Betaruga.

The rules would generally be the same, where each artist can submit an entry for the challenge at whatever effort level they would like (sketch, inked, colored, finished, whatever they feel like or have time for) and at the end of the month have a poll to determine who "won." The winner then gets to pick the topic for the next challenge. I believe the only caveat was that an artist couldn't win consecutively, but if they still wanted to participate for that month they could.

Artist submissions would be in responses to the parent topic at no set date other than before the polling deadline. No secrecy needed and no sign up lists to adhere to. If one finished early they could post it as soon as they like.

So, do you think this is an idea worth trying?
1 x